Drawing from Line to Life - 8-week Beginners Course Self-directed lessons
204 pages
250 Illustrations
Step-by-step
Resource + Activity
Only $9.99 USD
From Drawspace Publishing
Buy Now

Request for advice - edited, WITH drawing ;)

The joint forum of JD Hillberry and Mike Sibley. Tap into over 50 years of combined professional experience and join in.

Moderator: Mike Sibley

Request for advice - edited, WITH drawing ;)

Postby Ann1790 » Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:57 pm

Hi everyone,

I’m a newbie on this forum. I started drawing recently.
I began with a portrait drawing of a young girl, so 'close up' that I didn’t even have to draw hair ;)
Then I did a close up of a part my dog’s head.
My 3rd and current drawing is a portrait of a man.
And I would like to have your advice, because once I’m done with the head, I will be stuck … because of his shirt ;)

I used two reference photos.
1) a fairly good quality photo of the face with also a part of the shirt
but focus is on the the face, the shirt part is a bit of a blur …
2) a poor quality photo of the bigger portrait, including hair & rest of the shirt
shirt is all blur

Plus the shirt is as black as night; that doesn’t make it any easier.
When lightening with software, I can see a bit of texture (stitches on the collar) but that’s about it. Elsewhere, I can see change in values where the folds are.

Having zero experience, I’m stuck with drawing this part …

Also, because the rest of the drawing is in realistic style (or at least I try to), how do you cope with this?
Any suggestions?

Rgds,
Ann

here's a picture of the drawing
Attachments
IMG_0185 mulder.jpg

Re: Request for advice - edited, WITH drawing ;)

Postby Kenneth Reaume » Sun Nov 06, 2016 4:03 pm

Hello Ann1790, looking at the drawing - I personally don't see a lot that's 'wrong' with it at all. It's a lovey piece. It's also great to see a unique, spontaneous pose being rendered.