and UK Studio dates
available early 2018

Workshops ONLINE
8-week BEGINNERS
INTERMEDIATE, ADVANCED
6-wk TRADITIONAL SHADING
Join me at Drawspace.com
full details

i want to draw my girlfriend face but i have no idea how?

The joint forum of JD Hillberry and Mike Sibley. Tap into over 50 years of combined professional experience and join in.

Moderator: Mike Sibley

i want to draw my girlfriend face but i have no idea how?

Postby saif » Wed Mar 08, 2017 3:41 am

hello, I am really interested in drawing my girlfriends face to give it to her as a gift, but the only problem is, is that I have zero knowledge on how to draw.

I am in no way artistic, but my girlfriend is and I just wanna impress her to be honest, but I don't know how to do it? how do you draw only the face area? because she send me a selfie of her a year ago and I really wanna make it into a drawing can some of you help me please?

Re: i want to draw my girlfriend face but i have no idea how

Postby KenBrown » Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:56 pm

Looks like I'm the first to reply.

You're going to need decent paper and perhaps a few different grade pencils. Don't use painter paper although it seems logical - it isn't meant to work with graphite so you'll have a hard time using it. Instead got an in expensive pad of paper designed for art - like Strathmore Bristol Smooth or Stonehenge or Arches hot pressed watercolor paper. Get something smooth - not rough or cold pressed. And a small set of pencils like Derwent or General. For what its worth I use 6H, 4H, 2H, H, HB, 2B and 4B but you really don't need all that to start. "Regular" pencils are usually 2B but getting something a little harder to go with that can be helpful.